What's new

Help with the neck

Gentlemen, I have been using a straight now for about 2 1/2 months, I guess. I am constistently getting bbs or close to it everytime on my face and chin (WTG and XTG). I have a fairly thick beard with terribly sensitive skin on my neck and the hair grows in any way imaginable all over that area. I have heard about trying different angles and that has worked for the chin and jawline but with the hair of the neck so discombobulated I can't seem to get that smooth without devestating effects . Is there something else I need to be doing other than angle. The lather is supurb as I have taken to heart the wisdom of this site; cushiony yet slick. Help Please. The shave looks so great on the face but southbound it looks like a cactus farm!:frown: Thanks folks!

Gentlemen, I have been using a straight now for about 2 1/2 months, I guess. I am constistently getting bbs or close to it everytime on my face and chin (WTG and XTG). I have a fairly thick beard with terribly sensitive skin on my neck and the hair grows in any way imaginable all over that area. I have heard about trying different angles and that has worked for the chin and jawline but with the hair of the neck so discombobulated I can't seem to get that smooth without devestating effects . Is there something else I need to be doing other than angle. The lather is supurb as I have taken to heart the wisdom of this site; cushiony yet slick. Help Please. The shave looks so great on the face but southbound it looks like a cactus farm!:frown: Thanks folks!

Here's what works for me:
  1. Bite the bullet and learn to also shave your neck ATG.
  2. In addition to WTG and ATG on your neck, try a second pass in these directions, with a change: using your non-shaving hand, pull the neck skin in the area you're going to shave to one side. This puts the hairs at an other-than-normal angle to the blade stroke, and you'll cut more of them.