What's new

Help with Irritation

I’m fairly new to wet shaving. My shaves are getting better and better, and my face is getting softer and softer. Sadly, there are two problem spots on my neck that seem to keep getting irritated no matter what I do. Has anyone out there experienced this? How did you fix it?

Here’s my setup if it helps.
Omega Boar Brush
Cella shave soap
Proraso green pre-shave
Nivea sensitive skin post-shave balm
Edwin Jagger de89
Astra SP
Tried Feather, as suspected, more irritation
Personna lab blues on the way

Thanks!

Tigg

Welcome to the forums!

I too struggled with the right side of my neck for a very long time after taking to DE razors, soaps and using a brush.

My problem was not so much with the razors or the technique, but truly knowing how to attack that area in terms of the way hair grows. Once I figured out that I’m simply unable to go true WTG on that side and settled with two passes XTG (south to north)with the least resistance and also accepted that a CCS/DFS in that area is probably the best I’ll get without irritation, my shaves improved quite a bit.

The other thing I’ve changed is I’ve gradually moved towards SE razors, as I have found the thicker blades are more to my liking.

I know everyone is different and there will be lots of good advice given to you, and hope this helps a little.

Good luck and enjoy the shaves!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member
I have a spot on my neck that I struggle with quite often. Maybe if you get a chance to map your beard you might have better results. Beard mapping should be found in the Shave Wiki.

You are either shaving ATG on your neck (a no no for most), using pressure or taking too many passes on the irritated areas.