What's new

Help pick my stone progression!

I've been shaving with a Dovo 6/8 for a few years now but I still don't have a proper sharpening solution; I've been sending it it to be honed when needed. I have been doing lots of searches and reading the last couple of weeks and I am sold on the Naniwa Professional line. However, I am open to suggestions for other stones. I have also looked at Shapton Professional, Naniwa SS, Suehiro, King, and Bester. These stones will be used to sharpen both my straights and knives.

I currently have a DMT 1200 Diasharp. I thought it would be a good idea to pick up a 325/600 DMT Duosharp to lap the new stones, but also to be able to work on any neglected blades quickly. I tried using my 1200 for some serious work on a knife but the process was very slow.

For the rest of the progression, I had these different scenarios in mind:

1k -> 3k -> 8k snow white
800 -> 3k -> 8k snow white
2k -> 5k -> 8k snow white

I know DMT and the Naniwa stones use a different scale to measure their grit ratings, but I am not sure how much overlap I will need. Is the jump from 1200 mesh to 2k JIS easy to do? Will 1200 mesh to 1k JIS be a smoother transition or too redundant?

I have the 800 listed because I prefer the color of the stone a lot more over the bright green 1k, but I am not about to pick the 800 of it doesn't fit in the progression nicely. Function over form.

Out of these options, which would you choose? If you were in my shoes, would you pick different stones?

I see that Tools From Japan still carries the older Naniwa Chosera stones. I like the fact that they are 25mm thick instead of the 20mm of the Professional series. Do you think the newer Professional series was introduced in response to cracking issues in the Chosera series? Are the cracking issues something that would deter you from purchasing the Chosera stones?

Thanks guys.

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd