What's new

Help me pick my next bottle of Scotch

I am fairly new to drinking single malt scotches and am having a lot of fun. My first bottle was the Glenlivet 12. It's decent, easy drinking, but not very complex. I then went to Highland Park 12 for more complexity. Indeed it is more complex, but I realize I am not into the smokey flavor that is has, and I never did drink much of the bottle because of the smoke/peat. I then got the Macallan 12...TASTY!!!! I love it.

So now what??? Help me pick my next scotch!

I am assuming Laphroig is a NO NO since it is described and medicinal and smokey.

I am considering:

- Glenmorangie 10 yr
- Balvenie Double Wood
- Macallan 18, big bucks
- Glenlivet 18

Glenmorangie Quinta Ruban is an excellent choice!

Also try Dalmore or Dalwhinnie ... both excellent choices in my opinion.

All 3 are Highland malts by the way.

If you don't like smokiness, definitely avoid Laphroiag or Ardbeg.

Go with the Macallan 18yo. You only live once.:001_smile

The Glenmorangie (rhymes with orangey) is an excellent choice.

The Balvenie/GlenFiddich family of Scotches are also quite good. Those are among the handful of distillers in Scotland that do their own bottling.

If you're just getting into whisky, I would suggest spending a bit more time sampling whiskies around 12 years of age - as your palate adjusts and begins to pick up the nuances better, you will appreciate that 18 year old even more. :001_smile

My opinion for your next bottle is one of the following:

Cragganmore 12 - less sherried than the Macallan, a little grassier but still lots of flavour;

Dalmore 12 - similar to the Highland Park in terms of complexity, but without the peat;

Balvenie Double Wood - similar to the Macallan but a bit stronger; and

Talisker 12 - I know you said no smoke, but the Talisker is a sweet peat, not smoky. Similar to Lagavulin in this way. I don't like smoky Islay malts but I love Lagavulin and Talisker.