What's new

Handle for Gillette Tech

I know this is the brush section, but a few of the guys pointed me here.

I was wondering if anyone could advise me on how to make sure that the tech screws into a wooden handle I'm planning on making, and how to make sure the wood doesn't rot?

Thank you so much,
Cam

Seal the wood with something water proof. Superglue if you have a lathe to apply it.

When you attach the head of the razor to the handle, the screw will destroy the waterproof finish on the tip of the handle, So, you may want to dip the screw into some sort of sealant before attaching it to the handle, this way any exposed wood, or wood metal contact would remain sealed.

That's just me thinking out loud. I've never done that before.

You're going to need some sort of threaded collar you can set into the handle. That way the Tech head can screw into the collar and not damage the wood. The other way I've done it is to cut the top 1/2" or so off the top of the handle, drill a post hole in the bottom and a corresponding hole in the handle. Use a piece of metal rod etc to join the two pieces with epoxy glue. It helps if you don't need the Tech handle anymore:biggrin1:. Also try and get the 2 pieces the same diameter for a clean look. Another possible solution might be to use a Chicago screw extension. Try your hardware store. If you like wooden handles TGN sells a 3 piece DE head that seems to be a copy of the EJ89 head which works really well with your own handles. Seal the wood with a good polyurethane. Several coats will do it

Good luck

Maybe consider putting a washer or something metal like that to cover the face of the handle.
That way no exposed wood would be exposed (does that make any sense??)

Use the spindle off a cracked ball ended handle, epoxy it to the wood, seal the wood with marine spar varnish.
Use a dense tropical hardwood.