What's new

Figuring out the Tsushima Black-Ocean

What do you think it brings to the table the asano/Mikawa naguras don't?

From my experience, sensitivity to pressure and unpredictability with how and when it breaks down. Maybe this is why Iwasaki didn't them, again, who knows. The latter may seem to be an unwanted characteristic but I rather enjoy it, it keeps me on my toes and in tune with tells, e.g. suction, undercut, squeaks etc.

Last edited by a moderator:
Steve, you will also start to notice that TBN reacts positively to certain razors and steel. DDs, CMons and other Solingen razors take on pushed Coticule-like edges. I agree with Gamma on this, the edges however differ greatly than those honed on Suitas which are also Coticule-like but smoother.

Yes, thanks for the interesting post, Bayamonte. I'm new to jnats, but I've been wondering more and more why asanos are so highly touted when there's so many other options for a progression (aoto, chu, Tsushima, ? Others), many of which are cheaper and will last much longer. I have an aoto and a tomo that work nicely as a progression and I've been considering that down the road I might get a Tsushima to hopefully add some refinement (or just to play with ;).

These stamps are simply a form of authentication, they are a verification that they are what they’re supposed to be, nothing more. Do some of these nagura suck? Of course they do, it’s a natural product. Sakamoto-san used to test and stamp only nagura he deemed worthy. He inherited the stamps from Asano and was charged with making sure that only true Mikawa Nagura were recognized as such. This whole thing is a free for all right now because of the depleted stock of these nagura.