What's new

Dorco Pace 7 v Gillette 1903/04 Double Ring

I received my Dorco Pace 7 today, the world's FIRST seven blade razor, the (current) pinnacle of modern technology. I've never used more than a twin blade before and was curious, wanting to give this beast a try.

Of course I'm not the first to try the Pace 7 so I wondered how I could make a review different, thus this thread was born!

Dorco Pace 7 vs Gillette 1903/04 (Pat App For) Double Ring. The latest 2015 tech vs the original Gillette safety razor - or at least as close as I can get.

Comparing the packaging first -

proxy.php

Hmmm, think I'm giving this to the Gillette.

The combatants -

Closer look at those seven blades -

Initially I will be using a Personna Lab Blue, my standard test blade, in the Double Ring. These modern blades are thinner and hang out the ends a little. I'm not using a shim as some people do either.

The process will be to shave one half of my face with each - swapping side each morning.

How do they compare? Well you will have to come back in the morning and find out!

Great comparison. Humorous.

Maybe, maybe not!

I am approaching this with an open mind believe it or not. I still use a twin blade cart when I travel and find that the results have improved dramatically since converting to DE. I've never tried a 3/4/5 blade cart let alone a 7 blade so this is whole new territory for me. The older Gillette OCs are also fairly aggressive, partly as they were designed for a thicker blade.

It is feasible that the 7 blades will be smoother - especially with a pivoting head. I'm curious to see how they compare.

Brush: Vintage butterscotch Simpson Duke
Soap/Cream: B&M Roam
Aftershave: Pinaud Clubman Special Reserve

Both razors are very different to the Weber PH on bulldog handle I've been using most recently!

I started with the DR tentatively and cautiously. I know that these can bite.