What's new

Den creep - 1 year

Hey all,

was cleaning out the bathroom today and as I was taking EVERYTHING out of it and was thinking of how much stuff I've accumulated in just about a year of being a member of B&B. As I was ready to put all the stuff back, I decided to do a 'before' and 'after' shot of my 'den creep' since joining:

Image 1 - before
$den-before.jpg

Because it was so sparse, I did a blowup so you can clearly see that there were only 5 things in my shave den pre-B&B:
1. cart razor (switched to a trac-II head as I couldn't stand paying so much for the Sensor replacement heads - hahaha, little did I know)
2. shaving brush - a boar brush from Sephora that I've been using for over 10 years
3. soap in bowl - originally housed C&E sandalwood soap, but resorted to glycerin soaps as C&E disappeared from here for a while
4. Dominica Bay Rum - ever since I saw it in the old J Peterman catalog, I wanted a bottle of it - and one lucky trip to California later...
5. prickly heat powder - not really a shave powder, but great for those hot days as it is very cooling

Add deodorant, comb and a toothbrush to the pic and you have what for over 20 years, with only a slight variation, was very satisfactory for my day to day grooming needs. I used to be proud of my spartan mini-den, and I fully admit that I made fun of SWMBO and all her bottles, creams, ointments, lotions, etc etc (originally, the rest of the space in the before pic use to be hers).

However, once found out about DE / SE razors and B&B...

Image 2 - after
$den-after.jpg

I'm not even going to begin to count the number of items shown here, but everything other than my original cart razor is still there... somewhere, buried in the picture. As you can see, everything has.. um... grown quite a bit in the year: soaps, creams, brushes, after shaves tonics, shave bowls, and lets not forget the razors, too. Egads, the razors..