What's new

D. R. Harris

Has anyone used this soap? I ordered it online shortly after I decided to start wet shaving, but apparently they're sending it from England via the moon, because it won't be here until October. It's one of the few things I've bought on amazon based solely on customer reviews, but since I have no idea what in looking for in a soap I just figured I'm going to experiment with as many as I can afford and I gotta start somewhere, right?

But I'm wondering (because I'm sort of obsessing over it I guess) how it performs. Currently I'm using Van Der Hagen and I'm not very happy with it. But I'm still learning how to lather and it seems to be getting better as I learn. How does D. R. Harris lather? Does it lubricate well? I got the Marlborough scent, and from the description I think I'll like it, but smell is a very subjective experience and hard to convey in writing.

FWIW I think I'll be getting some MWF next. Nobody seems to dislike that soap from what I hear.

Top shelf soap all the way. It's a hard triple milled puck that will last forever. It lathers up easily, it's slick and protective for me. I haven't used the Marlborough scent, I have the Arlington but like you said scent is subjective. I think you will really appreciate D.R. Harris. I have used VDH as well and it's ok, but this will be a huge step up from it. Hopefully it arrives sooner than October though.

MWF I haven't used but it's also on my to try list from all the great things that I hear about it.

I agree with the quality of the soap. where did you order from? I think WCS carries most (if not all) of the DRH flavors and thus would ship locally. for the future of course.

I love DR Harris products - they are high-end soaps and excellent performers.

As for Marlborough, it is a darker/smokier scent..kinda reminds me of cedar. I really dig it though (so does my girlfriend!)

I use the Dr. Harris Marlborough soap.