What's new

British Ball-end tech took me by surprise

I have a bunch of very nice vintage razors and I bought 2 british techs in a flea market while on vacation this summer, along with an Old set. I tried the old and one of the techs (with a braided-like handle). Both were very nice and ended-up in my rotation. The second tech was a simple ball-end model and since it didn't look as fancy as the two others, I didn't try it until tonight. Damn! That simple, basic razor gave me the smoothest shave I've had in months (I've had plenty of great shaves but that thing was just fantastic). I've been favoring more aggressive razors for the last 6 months or so but this one really surprised me. Sorry for the lack of pics but you know, it looks like all the other ball-ends you'Ve seen.

Just goes to show me that I should always try my razors without prejudice... while the other two of that score were great, this one is the clear winner here.

Indeed, my other 3 techs are very good but I really didn't expect this one to be this great!

Well done and well said. My first Tech taught me a lot too. I think for me it is possible to get a good close comfortable shave with either a mild razor or an aggressive razor or points in between. You just have to listen to how the razor wants you to shave and adjust your technique accordingly. Once you can do that, the great shaves just keep on coming.

I don't get it, what do you mean?
It's a quote from a movie called The Matrix.

I simply meant that your eyes were opened to one of the best razors ever made, if you are speaking of the one in the picture.

$20161008_191826-1.jpg

I use the US version, one of my top razors. I don't find any difference between the US, Canada or England made Tech with the same baseplate as the one pictured, I have all 3.

I don't find any difference between the US, Canada or England made Tech with the same baseplate as the one pictured, I have all 3.