What's new

Bought a few decants

Ordered a few decants of fragrances I had been curious about from Surrender to Chance (1ml samples). MY first order from them - they shipped very quickly. Good service. I am no expert so take it for what its worth but these are my takes on them after one trial on my arm each:

Annick Goutal Sables – Too sweet for me. Smells mostly like maple syrup
D.S. & Durga Mississippi Medicine – Smells like cedar chest and buckskin fringed jacket. I’m liking this one so far. Very unusual and dry (which I was hoping for). Want to give this some more time.
Etat Libre d'Orange Eloge du Traitre – Very similar to Yatagan, which I wear regularly. Think Yatagan with a bit of Paco Rabanne. Some similarities to Eucris also but a bit less of the fruit. Very nice but similar enough to Yatagan that I probably would only own one of the two.
Etat Libre d'Orange Rien – Take the rough rubber and leather notes from Knize Ten, amp them up and add Lilac Vegetal. Too much like a urinal cake for me. Wife hated this one.
Etat Libre d'Orange Vierges et Toreros – Interesting mix of floral and spicy leather. Not sure of this one yet but I want to give it more time.
Tauer Perfumes L'air du Desert Marocain – Spiced vanilla or marshmallow. I tried it on myself and really only get vanilla. Much sweeter than I expected. Tried it on my wife and she got some of the spiciness. Much more feminine than I hoped. Not for me but I could see how some would like it.

Thanks for posting that.
I was exploring Eloge du Traitre lately too. Red the story on their site, picked up a fougere vibe and that was it for me. Had to have it. I mean who in the sane state of mind could think up a story like that, connect it with that scent and go unpunished. This guy/girl? that does their marketing is baaaad, and I mean that in a good way.