What's new

Boar brush - can't get many passes

I'm very new to boar brushes (three shaves in so far) and am having a hard time getting three passes out of my brush. Here's my routine:
1. Soak brush and soap (MWF) while I shower.
2. Shake water out of brush and dump water out of soap bowl.
3. Go to town on soap puck.
4. Face lather, slowly adding water.

With this method I easily get three nice lather passes out of my badger brushes, but my Omega 49 brush only gives me two. The third is very thin and no amount of water can bring it back.

I've read about getting crazy amounts of lather from this brush, but I can't figure out how to keep that lather in the brush after face lathering. Any tips?

I have the same problem with boar brushes. I've tried many and I can only get one good pass when face lathering.
When I do face lather I use a shave stick. I've tried loading more soap but that did not work. I'll be following this thread also.

Wet/ dry cycles also help with break in. Use it every other day so it had a chance to dry thoroughly; that's when the tips split. Over time that brush will produce more lather than you can use in the passes.

Wet/ dry cycles also help with break in. Use it every other day so it had a chance to dry thoroughly; that's when the tips split. Over time that brush will produce more lather than you can use in the passes.

Yes! This is the ticket. Be patient.

And I never soak brushes. Wetting the bristles is sufficient.

AimlessWanderer

Remember to forget me!
Go back for more soap when you need it. Simple. There's no rule to say you have to make enough for three passes with the first load. It's just a quirky thing that people on the internet do.

Hello. If the brush is brand new, it might be a problem of needing to break in. Also, i don't consider the 49 ideal for face lathering, but others use it fine in that, so YMMV.

Points 1 and 2 look fine.