What's new

Best knife under $35 or so

S

Sam

As a newbie, I was told that I really needed to go to a knife store and view them and hold them before trying to decide what knife to get as a first knife and only looking here or online. Walmart locally, or the one by my house, did not have a great selection and they were in sealed boxes. So next up, today, was Bass Pro Shop.

I liked the Kershaw line. Tried a Leek and liked it. Spring assist was very nice. Did not like the stainless handle, too slick and, well, not enough visually to differentiate the blade and handle. Maybe down the road.

One that suprised me: Benchmade Mini Griptilan. I liked it. Loved how the blade locked into place, loved the handle, loved the blade. I think I like that size over the regular Griptilan. Seems like for me, it might be easier to carry and, well, maybe I might get the advise to go the regular one, but I liked it.

Too bad they did not have Spyderco as I wanted to compare the Persistence and the Tenacious to it directly. They did not have a Blur or Scallion to compare.

So in the $40 or under range (and the JD2 that is for sale in composite blade for about $45 on the boards), can someone compare and contrast the knives I have looked at with the Spydercos as far as pros and cons? The Benchmades were sold there for $84 for the mini, and so that is gonna be out of what I want to spend on a first knife, and the Persistence might come in under $30 shipped, so I need someone's observations that have held and used these. I do like the Kershaw look, oh, and it also happened that the servicemen at the shop where I picked my car up flipped their Kershaws open and they were also on the smaller size like the Mini and they said they use them all the time and the spring assist busted on one and Kershaw sent a new one.