What's new

Best DE blades for a thick beard and sensitive skin

Im new to shaving with a DE razor. I have sensitive skin and a thick beard. Any blade recomendations? Right now im using the Derby's that came with my razor. They work pretty well, however i want to see if theres something better.

Which razor are you using? Having also a thick beard and sensitive skin I find that the sharper the blade, the better shave I get, using Feather's or Astra SP's.

I also have a heavy beard and sensitive skin. Blades are very much a personal matter - no two beards and faces are the same. For me, the best blades so far have been the Personna Med/Lab blades, Personna Reds, Bolzano, and Gillette Yellows. However, these may not work for you.

Some recommend Feather blades. But for me I can only get two shaves from them and, as a result, they are not a good choice for me. However, they may work for you. That's why I recommend you
try a sample pack and add to it and see what works best for you.

I also started on derbys. They're ok, but I'm sure you can get something a bit sharper and smoother for your beard/skin type. My usual blade is a med prep coupled with a Gillette NEW long tooth open comb. The blade is sharp and smooth, but I find I only get 2 shaves before the blade dulls and gives me a bit of irritation.

I recently read on noahpictures' shave off thread that he palm strops his blades and gets as many as 9 shaves out of a med prep. Maybe his beard isn't as tough as mine, but I'm going to give that a go and see how long they last.

P-red, feather, med prep, Gillette blue, Gillette black, Gillette perma, Astra sp, cheapest P-red& Astra ~17.00 for 100. most expensive being Gillette blacks at $50 for 100

I use Feather in a Feather or red Personna. The Derby don't last more then one shave for me. I have a thick coarse beard that is prone to in-growns and these razors work beautifully :0)