What's new

Belgian blue whetstone vs. Kitayama, help needed

I have been reading the Interactive Guide to Straight Razor Shaving on the ShaveWiki about hones and honing. Never honed a razor by myself in my life, always asked other people to handle it for me, and now I wish to learn the process.

After reading different guides, I am leaning towards either a Belgian blue whetstone (BBW) or a Kitayama stone. Financially wise, the investment would be slightly the same. I picked the BBW rather than a Coticule because it is much less expensive and I could get a bigger stone for, I guess (maybe wrongly), the same advantages.

Considering I am a complete newbie at honing, what would be the best option? The issue here for me is getting a balance between the benefits of the stone for the razor, the ease of use (i.e. avoiding complicated moves), the less difficult learning curve.

What would you recommend me? And the answer could be another stone as well, I picked those two because they seemed to meet the best my specifications.

Thank you!

You would be way way way better off with a modestly sized coticule... I am a coti guy and trust me when I say that bbw is a pretty miserable experience as a honing solution usually. I would not wish setting a bevel with bbw on my worst enemy. The issue with it is it is slow as can be and does not top out the way a coti does. It's a false economy because you will just be wanting more performance.

Pm doorsch. He is in the EU and maybe he can steer you the right way for getting a stone with a good performance window.

What kind of honing are you thinking of doing?
An 8k Kit is only going to give you touch-up capability - maybe. It depends on how the edge was honed prior.
If you are shaving with 8k edges - then an 8k touch up will suffice.
If you had a stellar Jnat edge - the 8k touch-up will be short.

What kind of honing are you thinking of doing?