What's new

Automatic Roaster Guidance

I'm looking at sweet maria's site and I can't tell the difference between 2 automatic roasters. The only difference I can see is the price tag. Please help my newbiness.

Behmor 1600 Roaster
Gene Cafe Roaster

I'd probably be doing the roasting outdoors as indoors I have a recirc hood and have 2 little kiddies running around the house. If there are any hazards or concerns by what I've said, please don't hesitate to kick me for possibly doing something stupid. :blink:

I've been roasting for about 2 years with a Behmor. No complaints. I roast about 3/4 lb. per roast and do two roasts a week. In the winter and during bad weather I just put it on the kitchen counter. No real smoke problems unless I over-roast a batch. It makes the house smell like coffee for a little while but it disappears soon enough. No experience with the Gene but I used an I-Roast 2 for a while before the Behmor. The I-Roast works well but the batches are small.

I just bought the Behmor 1600 Roaster. I chose it somewhat based on price as compared to the Gene Cafe Roaster, HotTop, etc. But also based on reviews which were mostly positive, especially its ability to do 1lb roasts. If you plan to do much roasting indoors then I think the Behmor would be preferable as in theory it smokes less than the other models, otherwise other factors may be more important to you.

I have only done a couple of roasts with mine...the first was not very good as I was just getting into 1st crack and saw a puff of smoke and panicked a bit and immediately hit the cool down button to avoid overroasting. I was able to drink it, but it was far too bright for my liking (though it had not rested very long...so that may have contributed to the flavor, I am not sure). The second batch was much better, getting into the start of 2nd crack before stopping the roast. It provided a much better cup of coffee.