What's new

AHHHH... Hones!

Ok, so I am fairly new to the straight razor lifestyle, but I am getting better and want to take the hobby as far as I can. Which inevitably brings me to the world of honing. I have read up on this forum and others to find out what basic stones I would need to maintain a good edge on my straights. There is sooooo much out there and I've read so many different opinions its enough to make my head spin. :confused1

Can anyone out there narrow down for me what basic stones I could get that would do the trick? I was thinking a norton 4K/8K with a chinese 12K to finish plus a lapping stone. Is this good enough? or should I get a different combo? I heard Coti's are good too? Please break it down for me!! What type of stone? What grits? Just the basics. Thank you guys in advance! Any help is much appreciated! :laugh:

Are you going to be taking dull edges from bevel setting to shave ready or merely maintaining shave ready edges?

Are you going to resurrect chipped up eBay specials?

What tickles your brain more, natural stones or synthetics?

Buy a coticule 6x2 is fine with a slurry stone. Take a look at thesuperiorshave.com. Also pick yourself up a DMT 600/1200 combo hone for removing chips in a razor and setting the bevel. Coticule.be will have all the info you need on the learning the coticule. Don't be scared away by the learning curve. It's no that bad and you'll be thankful in the end. Those 2 stones will be all you ever need for maintaining your straights.

Norton 4/8K for a start, it's cheap and effective.

Coticule is effective too but I have been preferring major work on the Norton first before moving to a coticule.

Norton 4/8K for a start, it's cheap and effective.

Coticule is effective too but I have been preferring major work on the Norton first before moving to a coticule.

+1

Hard to beat that set up, it's the Proraso of honing. It's the right of passage.