What's new

Aggressive Razor. Whats the appeal?

Ive been shaving with antique gillette safety razors for a few years now. Ive got a pretty reasonable collection of each basic model. Not every different kind of every different model, but a reasonably representative sample.

Some of these razors are pretty aggressive. The merkur futur dialled up is pretty nasty. The old type I have is pretty aggressive too.

I tend to avoid shaving with the aggressive ones. I get a perfectly adequate 2 pass shave for work days in about 5 mins and can take extra time on sundays for a good job with one of the superspeeds or techs.

I get no nicks or cuts. With one of the aggressive ones no matter how careful I am, I end up with some weepers.

So, you guys that like the aggressive ones - whats the appeal?

Does it have a good valid advantage, or is it a bit of a pissing contest?

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
I've been wondering about this as well. I get a relaxed, comfortable 2 or 3 pass smooth shave every time with a Super Speed. For decades. I need to pay a little more attention with my Single Rings or a German open comb razor. But my FaTip or heaven forbid -- that other one, leaves me with tiny toilet paper Japanese flags all over my face. Really?

I think the OP summed it up in the second part of his last sentence.

I like the challenge. Shaving for me is trying to find the perfect balance between BBS and no blood or irritation. With the more gentile razors no blood or irritation is pretty easy, but BBS is a little tricky. With the aggressive ones BBS is easier, but to get no blood or irritation requires more attention to details. It just depends on my mood and if I feel like a quick and easy shave or a slower more involved one.