What's new

34c should I keep trying?

Alright, so I am relatively new to DE razors and keep reading that the reason I find the 34c frustrating is because of technique (or lack thereof). The other night I completed 3 passes with the 34c and was so unhappy with the shave that I pulled out my Muhle Rocca and completed a 4th pass. The Rocca efficiently cleaned up the terrible shave I had with my 34c.

Now, I think the consensus on the forum for is to keep practicing technique and that I should be able to get an "irritation free BBS" with the 34c. Color me skeptical! 🫤 I'm just having a hard time believing that the 34c can deliver a nice shave for me, no matter how good my technique gets. I'm also struggling to understand why I should keep practicing with the 34c when I can already get great shaves from my Rocca with far less effort. Is there a benefit to using mild razors that I am not experiencing? I feel like the 34c gives me more irritation than the Rocca because I have to make so many passes and do too much "clean up" to achieve an acceptable shave. What am I missing? Should I just ditch the 34c or do I keep at it (and why)?

Edit: I should mention I pair the the 34c with a feather blade.

Last edited:

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member
I find that milder razors such as the Merkur 34C and G, Schick Krona’s and Gillette Tech razors need to be paired with sharp blades such as Feathers, Nacets etc. This works for me very well. I would keep trying a little longer and if you don’t feel any improvement then stick with the razor that you believe works the best for you. I have tried a few razors and I occasionally use open comb razors but they are not what gives me the better shaves.

AimlessWanderer

Remember to forget me!