What's new

Who's shaving with the oldest razor?

Those are all amazingly old and amazingly beautiful blades
C. Klauberg& Bros is my oldest at somewhere between
1837 & 1861.
I had no idea of the age until a friend asked to borrow it and i was forced to do googling :001_tt2:
$IMG_0601.jpg
$IMG_0193.jpg

I hope this thread perseveres!

Max

This is a Joseph Milton wedge, very heavy I just picked up and haven't worked on yet. Only states Sheffield (no England) and no Monarch date. That puts it really early 1800s (I think as I'm new to this). Also cool shape with notch, no jimps at all and by far the heaviest blade I have. I have other wedges but none near this heavy.

Nick
View attachment 381164

My oldest is also my favorite razor. But I could actually use some help dating it. The razor looks to be a Thomas Warburton razor. In fact it is pictured in Lummus' article "More Old Razors" (Antiques, May 1927, p. 372 - see http://www.anwealde.com/razors/bothlummus.pdf - scroll to 6th page), and described by him as dating to 1785.

The issue I have however is that my razor looks pretty clearly stamped "Lisboa" with an "A" not "Lisbon" with an "N" which is what Lummus states was Warburton's trademark.

Does anyone know if Warburton used the "Lisboa" spelling at any point in his manufacturing history? This doesn't seem like a stretch to me, since Lisboa is the Portuguese spelling for Lisbon. Finding out when Warburton may have used this spelling would give me a more precise date of its making.

By the way, this beautiful razor is a restoration by fellow B&B member David Florczak - he did a great job!

$photo 3.jpg
$photo 1.jpg

Say, that's a fine looking blade there, Mark ;) Btw, thanks for those photocopied pages you linked to - I'm finally able to date this "Shepherd" accurately, thanks to you! (John Shepherd, in business 1770-1795)

$shepherd.jpg

This thread is so full of cool.

+1.

Some of these razors are as old as my country and still shaving . . . amazing.