What's new

Stirling Soaps

You’re right. Not an artisan at all and no way they make “small batches” either.
What constitutes an artisan?
Thank you men for understanding my point. Now dont get me wrong, Sterling is decent soap. I think i have two if not at least one in my rotation.

Because I was asked, My top tier has MDC, Castle Forbes, Wholly Kaw, Gentlemens Nod, Declaration Grooming, A&E, Zingari Man, Klar, Chiseled Face, Grooming Dept, etc. I think my rotation is around 60 soaps at this time. Not as many as Ive had in the past, thank God.
If you have any questions @Boyd send me a pm. Im happy to help.

Back on topic ..
MDC and Castle Forbes over Stirling? 🤔 Man... It really is YMMV.

Star_Wahl_Clipper_Treker

Likes a fat handle in his hand
@xterribad

Keep in mine guys, I am still fairly new to wet shaving on this journey, so correct me if I am wrong here but... When someone says a shave soap is a specifically "ARTISAN" shave soap, doesn't that just mean that its hand made? Because it appears to me, mass produced soaps of lower quality, such as that of Proraso shave soap, none of those are classified as "ARTISAN" on the label. So, ya, I am thinking it just means, a soap that is hand made, or hand crafted as some might say.

Artisan in this usage would relate to limited quantities or small batches - seriously ambiguous terminology.
For any modern soap maker, we can toss out "hand made" as this would directly correlate to mechanized mixing; simply put, ain't nobody hand stirring... I'd be hard pressed to believe that anybody is hand-pouring soap these days either; A/S and liquified balms sure

And yes, MdC > Stirling in my book - personal preference of course
Nothing at all wrong with Stirling, I have quite a few; but MdC hits all my checkboxes with a jumbo sharpie

Last edited:
@xterribad