What's new

Drying Soaps after use

I'm far from a newbie but i guess i missed this part of the tutorial and as i haven't found a solid answer in my brief searching i need to ask an important question.

Should a tub of soap be dried out after usage? If so why and what does sealing in moisture do to the soap?

Last edited:
Moisture is perfect environment for bacteria and mold. You want as less of it as possible, especially with soaps that don't have perservatives.

Unless you really supersaturate the soap with water there is no need to leave it open to the air. I leave my soap tub open while I am shaving and then put it back on just before I leave the bathroom. Years ago when I first started wet-shaving with store-bought tubs of soap (I was a Williams puck in a coffee cup user for 40 years) I went to great lengths to dry my soap and then I realized it didn't matter. Even if you have many soaps in your rotation. Unless there is something drastically wrong with the soap it will resist mold growth.

Unless there is something drastically wrong with the soap it will resist mold growth.

If there are no perservatives (Williams does) and you leave it moist and unused for longer period, it will likely turn rancid and grow mold. Unsaponified fats in soft soaps are problematic (Williams has none).

In the interests of full disclosure, i should admit that if i wind up with a significant amount of lather left i often will squeeze it out of the brush and put it back in the tub.

If there are no perservatives (Williams does) and you leave it moist and unused for longer period, it will likely turn rancid and grow mold. Unsaponified fats in soft soaps are problematic (Williams has none).

Yikes, ok i will stop doing that pronto and start paying attention to getting moisture out of the tubs.

In the interests of full disclosure, i should admit that if i wind up with a significant amount of lather left i often will squeeze it out of the brush and put it back in the tub.