What's new

badger me long time

I just wanted to check in and say thankyou to all the members here with your amazing welcome and insight into this new found world. So I am new to the DE shave world and got hold of a silver tip badger brush from a member here. Oh my goodness did it feel amazing I literally cried with joy. I'm slowly building up my arsenal and rituals. My wife laughs a little when she sees my set up because its like i'm going to war with my facial hair. I think my next purchase will be a boar brush just to see. I've heard it's pretty rough. about how long does it take to break in?

I wouldn't call a boar rough it just has a lot more backbone than other brushes. The ends of the bristles will get split ends and soften up when it is broken in. As far how long it takes I didn't pay attention but I'm sure someone will come along and give you their opinion on that.

Graydog

Biblical Innards
Welcome @Doaner , B&B is a great place to go over your "battle plan ".
Boars are a great choice, They don't cost as much as a badger any many guy's prefer them
As for how long , What I have found is that the more you use it and let it dry properly
The better results you will have , even when you are not going to use it with your shave
Lather it up and let it set with the lather in it for the day ,then wash it out and let it dry and keep doing that for awhile
it will help speed up the brake-in period . after you have used your boar brush for awhile you can then graduate to a Horse Hair :biggrin1:

Agree. B&B is a great site. Plenty of helpful and gracious shavers.

For a good boar, look at anything Semogue, particularly a 620.

Welcome to B&B
A good boar brush is really nice, I have the Semogue SOC. Break in was not too long from memory but it was many years ago

thankyou for the replies and welcome guys. I will try the boars from semogue that you all recommend.

Welcome @Doaner , B&B is a great place to go over your "battle plan ".