What's new

Your suggestions for vintage DE razors

Gents:

I have a nice collection of DE razors, and I know very little about the vintage razors out there. Fatboys, Rockets, etc....the names are colorful and I just don't seem to know the differences between the various vintage razors.

I find my EJ Chatsworth (great balance, head shaves beautifully), Futur (the heaviest beast in the stable, but well balanced and I like the adjustable feature) and Feather (light and maneuverable, and with a new Feather blade, it offers the most effortless BBS shave I can get) to be my best razors.

If this offers an indication of what I like, are there any suggestions out there from the cognoscenti of the vintage DE crowd?

Thanks,

Chris

I have a Futur that is my got to razor (this week), but I'm really starting to enjoy my Red Tip.

I am new to this so a 1954 Super Speed is all I have at the moment. I was in the local consignment shop and saw a Gillette New Standard with case. They came down from 65.00 to 45.00 but still too much for me. It was in good condition with just a little brassing on the handle. Should I have picked it up for that price?

If you like a heavy razor, the Fatboy I guess would be most comparable to your Futur. Heavy head, thick handle, and adjustable. Very in demand.

Here is a link from the review section of this website.

http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php?ltr=G&t=1779

+1

I am pretty new to this as well, but I love my Super Speed so far. Haven't tried a Fatboy yet. Sounds like a Fatboy would be pretty good for you since it seems as though you like a little heft to your razor.

No. I MIGHT pay 45 if it was near mint.
Thanks, I'll see if I can get them down some more. They only have DE's come through every once in a while. I got my Super speed there for 5.00 with case. in very good condition. Case not so much, Cracks and crazing.