What's new

Xanthan gum + water = AWESOME cheap homemade preshave gel!

I'm new to DE shaving since Christmas (got a Merkur 39C long-handled slant) and have been experimenting with different techniques, different brands of blades, soaps & creams and preshave routines. I got near nick-free during the first week and accomplished it on my 8th shave, having found the best grip/angle/pressure, but my primary ongoing issue over my first 3 weeks has been getting a close shave below my jawline, from ear to ear and right the way down my throat... especially without drawing blood or causing irritation. In many cases hair remained even after 4 passes (WTG, XTG, XTGR, ATG), or 5 (blade-buffing touchups in all directions), and attempts to get it all were causing painless red blotches on my skin. HOWEVER... I'm happy to say that in recent days I seem to have overcome both issues.

Yesterday for instance, I got an irritation-free BBS shave in all directions, even on my neck and throat, using a Crystal blade that I'd retrieved from my blade bin, originally discarded a few days earlier after using it for 6x face shaves + 1x head shaves - AND this was the very blade that I'd noted on its first (and subsequent uses), "Didn't shave that close (again), especially on neck".

My solution was the introduction to my shave routine of a super-slick homemade preshave gel, made from xanthan gum + water.
Cost? Mere pennies per week.

In the photo below, the little tub on the left contains the gel, made from about 1/4 tsp (perhaps less) to about 1oz of hot water. The amount you can see on the tip of my finger is enough for 1 day's shave but this stuff is so cheap you can add as much as you like and not worry about it. Just apply a dab to your wet face, then work it around using your fingers, rinse hands, lather up. Skin still as some slickness after 3 passes. Reapply a smaller dab on a wet face for no-soap touchups, if required.

$XanthanGumGel.jpg