What's new

Which sample pack to try?

I'm still pretty new to double edge shaving. I've been shaving about a month with blue bird blades. It's about time for me to buy a pack of blades. I want to buy a sampler pack but there are so many choices. I don't want to spend too much money but I don't want to miss out on the blade that works best for me. In particular I'd like to make sure I can try a feather and a derby anything else I'm not positive about. Any recommendations? Maybe a site with free shipping?

I am very pleased with the Extended Sampler from West Coast Shaving. All sorts of good blades.

One suggestion: don't jump around too fast; work through a few blades of each brand in order, paying attention to sharpness, smoothness, tugging, endurance, etc.

I say mix up 4 or 5 cheaper blades and 3 or 4 premium ones. If the cheap ones work well enough for you, there you go! Buy a 100. If not, find the premium one that suits you.

I'd say Astra SP, Shark SS, Rapira Swedish SS, Voskhod, Gillette Silver Blue, and the Feather that you asked for. Maybe throw in Personna Lab Blue and one of the 7 O'Clocks (based on BB comments, probably the Yellow).

Shriike,
If you have a USA mailing address, shoot me a PM and let me know what blades you have already tried. I have more than I can use in the next 10 years and would like to help you out with a sampler.

Shriike has an assortment on the way to him as I type this.

What I consider to be 10 very good blades. If he can't find something in this pack that works he must be an alien. :laugh:
Astra SP, Personna Blue, Personna Red, Feather, Gillette SB, 7 O'clock Yellow, 7 O'clock Black, Perma Sharp, Polsilver SI, and Voskhod

I am very pleased with the Extended Sampler from West Coast Shaving. All sorts of good blades.

One suggestion: don't jump around too fast; work through a few blades of each brand in order, paying attention to sharpness, smoothness, tugging, endurance, etc.