What's new

Unused Postwar Tech: Use or Not?

never-stop-learning

Demoted To Moderator
Staff member
In an effort to acquire “like new”, user grade vintage razors, I sailed too close to the wind and ended up with what appears to be a never used, postwar fat handle Gold Tech.

It is not NOS - no box or packaging. But it still has the paper “blade insert” (what are these called?), and the gold wash is immaculate but for some handling marks and a little oxidation.

So, I’m soliciting opinions: to use or not to use? (Note: I’m a novice, not yet a serious collector, and I am on a budget, so “just buy more” - while a good answer - probably doesn’t apply).

On the NO side, there is a finite number of unused Gold Tech razors; once it’s used, it’s gone. Also, given the infamous nature of Gillette’s gold wash, it’s a question of when, not if, I will be responsible for wear & tear.

On the YES side, this will never be a museum piece; there’s no packaging; there are millions of Tech razors out there.

Also, at the risk of sounding dopey, do I owe it to this razor to let it fulfill the role for which it was intended? This poor, lonely razor has sat for nearly 75 years, unloved, unused, shorn from its box, forgotten in a drawer. Shouldn’t it have the chance to show me what it can do; to give a world-class shave and have me joyfully sing its praises?

*You may be able to tell how I am leaning; but I am open to listening if more experienced hands all scream, “Noooooooo!” Thanks.
Life is too short. Use it and enjoy it. :)

use it! I have one with a custom etching by @HDSledge plus replateView attachment 1502681 by Back Roads Gold. It is now more precious than if it still lived in the box of its manfacture.
That looks awesome. I agonized over which artwork to use and the running wolf was the perfect choice. So happy that I got it centered. The whole process is fraught with potential failure from start to finish but this one turned out great.