What's new

Titanium (6al-4v) + Silvertip knot

My first project was to replace the knot on a stock VanDer Hagen brush. Although not a "looker", the new brush has been totally awesome, and I have been using it daily for the last 4-5 months. Since I recently completed a Titanium handle for my first GD project, I decided to make a new Titanium (6al-4v) handle for a second Silvertip knot from The Golden Nib.com.

From left to right: (new 24mmx58mm Short Loft Silvertip knot, my modified VanDer Hagen brush, the Omega boar 31064 "banded" model, and Omega boar #49):
proxy.php

Here is the Titanium bar I used for this project:
proxy.php

I started by smoothing the OD and face-off the Ti bar with a PCD insert:
proxy.php

proxy.php

I then proceeded to very slowly work on the shape - it took me between 4-5 hours to do all of the machining today:
proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

I added some internal grooves to provide mechanical lock to the epoxy (the knot can't slide out):
proxy.php

Then the assembly (the easy part!):
$DSCF0227.jpg

proxy.php

Compared to my other shaving brushes (Ti handle=5.1oz, VanDer Hagen=2oz, Omega boar=2.7oz):
proxy.php

And here is my Titanium pair:
proxy.php

I make as many of my own metal bike parts (and anything else that interests me) as I can with fairly simple hand tools and a lot of elbow grease. I really enjoy and appreciate the stuff you've been making! If you happen to have another one of those handles "fall" out of you love lathe I'd love to get one. Have you thought of trying to make your own 3 piece razor? I've kicked it around but I don't have anywhere near the tools to do it well.

Last edited:
Holy Sh*t.

Sorry to pseudo-curse. That is absolutely stunning. Incredible work. Please tell me you foregoing your professional life to make and sell shave products?