What's new

There and Back Again

Hello again, B&B Friends.

I wonder if you awesome folks wouldn't mind sharing some of your wet-shaving evolution in this thread.

I've been shaving in some form or another since about 1985 or so. Exclusively traditional wet-shaving since around 2006. In that time, my gear, technique and general approach have evolved several times. I'd love to hear how your experiences have shifted to and fro along the way. I think this would be interesting in it's own right but also potentially instructive for newer shavers to see that not everything is figured out on day 1.

Specifically, I'm most interested in hearing about any choices that you have made along your journey where you've moved away from a particular technique or product, subsequently had your method refined or horizons broadened, and then ended up returning right back where you were to begin with as a result.

By way of example, a couple recent instances from my own experience:

1) Like many, I began wet-shaving with razors that would be considered quite mild. Initially, the results were middling at best, albeit superior to carts. Over time, I gravitated toward ever more aggressive razors and sharper blades. This saw my technique improve dramatically as I got used to shaving with the correct amount of pressure. More recently, I've been coming back around to milder razors and having great success, much better than years ago.

2) I started off bowl lathering as a neophyte wet-shaver as that was the predominant method of most of the tutorials I was following at the time. Then, a few years ago I started to face lather and my shaves got better almost instantly. Being able to feel the lather on my face as I was making it was quite the eye opener. In recent days, I've done some test lathers and realized that I'm now making superior lathers in a bowl. 😲