What's new

The 15 Best Beers for the Summer Heat

Pretty nice list from Esquire of their 15 best beers to drink this summer and what eat with them. Some of these have been metioned before in other lists and posts, but there are a couple that I've never tried before.

Brooklyn Blast

With nine varieties of British and American hops and an alcohol content approaching 9 percent, this IPA is definitely a blast to the palate. But it's also incredibly balanced — no alcohol heat, and all of those hops are bright and citrusy, not astringent and bitter.
Drink with: tacos.

Victory Golden Monkey

Belgian-style tripel ales can often be cloyingly sweet or be plagued by strong, spicy esters. But not Philadelphia's Victory Brewing Co., which keeps flavors harmonious in its Golden Monkey. The beer's highly active carbonation also makes it light on the tongue.
Drink with: steamed mussels or grilled shellfish.

Anchor California Lager
Best known for its iconic Steam Beer, Anchor Brewing set out recently on a quest to re-create California's first lager, from a brewery that burned down in the 1890s. Anchor used California-grown barley and Cluster hops, America's oldest variety, to craft California Lager. This easy-drinking, historic brew was only available on draft and in bottles in California — until this month. Look for it through September in New York, Maryland, Illinois, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts and about 10 other states.
Drink with: BBQ chicken.

Firestone Walker Pils

Pilsners are like the vanilla cake of the beer world: Tasty, sure, but maybe a little boring. Not so fast, says Firestone Walker Brewing Co. The California brewer adds a crush of German-grown hops to give its Pils a juicy snap. I could — and will — drink this all summer long.
Drink with: ceviche.

Deschutes River Ale