What's new

Selvedge Denim - Do you buy it? - Cone Mills is closing

Is Selvedge denim on the demise? Or is it just too expensive? I have been tempted to buy a pair to try and understand their appeal. But the cost/value is prohibitive especially when it is hard to get a proper fit. Still I was disappointed to see a local news story about Cone Mills shutting down. Here is one news report from a different station:
Cone Denim White Oak Plant To Close In Greensboro After More Than 110 Years In Operation

Based on this article Cone Mills was one of the most expensive producers but also one of the best. I thought high quality items nearly always had a following, but looks like the owners are not making enough profit.
https://www.heddels.com/2015/04/defense-cone-mills-hems-haws/

It seems like Japanese textile mills might have taken over a little too much. Again, I'm not an expert on the matter but I was interested in selvedge demin for a while. From what I gathered during that time, Japanese denim takes longer to break in and results in more defined fades and honeycombs.
upload_2017-10-23_1-3-42.png

There's an image of Japanese selvedge denim (Kuroki mills) to the left vs a pair of American selvedge denim (Cone mills) to the right. Different mills, different textures, different consistency. Either way, it is unfortunate that cone mills in Greensboro is closing down. There really does seem to be a lot of history and prestige for lack of a better term, that came with belonging to the white oak plant. So much so that there was a myth amongst the denim community that they had sold their 'particular' textile machines to Japanese Textile Producers.. Who even makes up such a thing about textile machines? But I guess it goes to show just what this particular plant has meant for American denim and really, denim worldwide.

Judging from their website, they have other mills in Mexico and China.

Rhody

I'm a Lumberjack.