What's new

Ramblings of an ignorant noob

Soo.....I started wet shaving. I got er...directed to this place from another forum. I won a PIF, and through the generosity of Lamboy, I have a bunch of different blades to try out:

http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php/343660-PIF-Blade-Sampler-for-newbies/page2

It all started with AOS lemon and an R89. The AOS shaving cream is gone, but the oil and post-shave balm is hanging on as is the brush.

So here is what I have noted thus far in this journey. Please feel free to tell me that I am an ignorant noob - it helps me learn.

Pre-shave - in my meanderings through the threads here I found a post from someone mentioning that conditioner works well as a pre-treatment in the shower. The good thing is that this appears to be true. Bad thing is that my wife is starting to notice that her Paul Mitchell Conditioner is mysteriously disappearing.

Shave - I have tried three shave soaps/creams with varying results:

AOS Lemon - great shave, doesn't clean the greatest from my razor. Feels great on the skin

Neutrogena Skin Clearing Shave Cream - this is NOT a lathering cream: deal with it. What it does well is feel good after/during the shave. This stuff is almost TOO slick on my skin. If I get it on my razor as I shave and rinse, my razor actually gets hard to hold on to. On the down side, it doesn't clean well from the razor. Not bad to keep around for when you have little time to shave.

Van Der Hagen Select - I used Williams when I was a teenager, one thing that drew me back to wet shaving. This actually builds lather pretty easily, which is something considering that my water is as hard as you can get from the tap. Just enough lubricity to get things done. Scent isn't the greatest, but disappears quickly. Cleans well from the razor, but dries quickly.