What's new

Pu-erh. What's your preference?

captp

Pretty Pink Fairy Princess.
I'm fairly new to tea. Only really started drinking it regularly a little over a year ago. Just in the last month, I've started to try other than English or Irish Breakfast Blend.
I'm liking some other black teas & Pu-erh.
What are your preferences on Pu-erh? Raw, ripe, Cake, brick, loose. New harvests or older, well aged.
I have 2 cakes, 100 & 400 grams, and some loose, plus a tube of mini-cakes (8 grams each?) All raw.
I tried the loose, found it quite good, fairly high in caffeine. The mini-cakes; I think I didn't use enough tea. I'll increase it next time.
Haven't tried either of the larger cakes yet, but will soon; they're from 2017. I would expect both of them to be better 'cause they have a few years on them.
So, how do YOU like your Pu-erh?

Ad Astra

The Instigator
For me, the ripe/cake. Remember to rinse, of course, they use, well, just rinse it.

I really like W2Tea, without plugging them. :letterk1:

Just don't have time for the pu-erh process lately, but it is fun.

AA

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
I'm fairly new to tea. Only really started drinking it regularly a little over a year ago. Just in the last month, I've started to try other than English or Irish Breakfast Blend.
What are your preferences on Pu-erh? Raw, ripe, Cake, brick, loose. New harvests or older, well aged.
I have 2 cakes, 100 & 400 grams, and some loose, plus a tube of mini-cakes (8 grams each?) All raw.
I tried the loose, found it quite good, fairly high in caffeine. The mini-cakes; I think I didn't use enough tea. I'll increase it next time.
Haven't tried either of the larger cakes yet, but will soon; they're from 2017. I would expect both of them to be better 'cause they have a few years on them.
I like Pu-erh, but have always either had it served ready or in a small bag, loose and ready for steeping.