What's new

Please help me choose, Razorock Superslant or Muhle R41-GS

With the thick and dense swirl on my neck and remaining dense whiskers in every imaginable direction I am ready to trade off some of RR's famous smoothness for better efficiency. I can't afford both razors, and the price for each is the max I may spend.

Can someone advise (briefly compare in just a few words) RR's L2 or L2+, or L1++ efficiency, with the efficiency in R41GS ? Thank you. I am not a beginner but still cant get the BBS without at least three passes and touch ups with Merkur 39C slant bought 15 years ago.

Or something else? How about RR Lupo 95? Is the blade in Lupo95 as rigid as in other Razorock's stainless hardware? However, I have to stay away from boutique razors that cost hundreds of dollars/euros/pounds/francs etc.

Last edited:
I think you will find advocates of both. I haven't tried RR's Superslant but it has plenty of fans. I have the stainless steel R41 GS and for me it's a great razor. (I use mine with a lighter and shorter handle)

Iridian

Cool and slimy
The Lupo .95 OC is very good, but it cannot beat the R41 when it comes to stubble elimination. It's a lot more easy going to use, though. The R41 is teaching you how it wants you to use it in the Life of Brian way, like that Roman Centurion. School of hard knocks.

L3 OC and L3++ OC are probably the R41 range of effectiveness, though my L3++ OC still shaves very differently than a R41. The R41 can quite peel away skin and can also cause irritation if you do so, the Superslant doesn't do it that way, though it is also aggressive and can cut you.

If you want a two pass WTG, ATG the R41 might be your only choice. But even when I shaved exclusively with the R41 I had to do a touch up here and there.

My razor of choice to force a perfect BBS, but you might have to do some for many too harsh "scrubbing" type of shave with a very steep angle, is the Timeless Slim 0.5 OC.