What's new

Oh No, I have SE RAD

Guys,

I need some help from the SE experts. I own two SE razors, a 1912 and a "Military Razor." (I'm not sure that the Military Razor is designed to accept modern SE blades. They seem just a bit small for the razor head.) Anyway, I got in on the group buy and have 200 good blades heading my way. I also have about $30 in the Razor Acquisition Fund (aka Paypal account). What should I buy? MM of some flavor? Another GEM? It seems that even though there are only a couple of blades to choose from, there are more razors in the SE world than in the DE.

Last edited:
Guys,

I need some help from the SE experts. ... What should I buy? MM of some flavor? Another GEM? It seems that even though there are only a couple of blades to choose from, there are more razors in the SE world than in the DE.

I'm not an expert, but I found this thread helpful, member Darjeeling Express, with some generous loans from MrGuy et al, tries out almost all of the different SE models over the period of a few weeks. An interesting study!

Just because it is so sexy...

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

I'm on the road this week and decided to take my recently acquired G-bar (checked bags, so I was able to take some blades). This morning was my first shave with the G-bar, and man was it a smooth one. I'd been shaving with the Cobra Classic for the last few weeks. The transition to the Gem was easy, and my shave was every bit as close and comfortable. The Gem blades feel a bit different than the Kais and Feathers I use in the Cobra. Stiffer and perhaps more efficient. And although different, I don't prefer one over the other, yet. It's a nice variety. And it solidifies my resolve to acquire a few mode SEs... Going to post WTB now!

The SE world is a lot larger than just the 1912 variations and the micromatics. I see some have mentioned the Valet, and yes that's nice too.
Here are some of my lesser known favorites.

The Perfecta