What's new

Newbie Fountain Pen?

I'm looking into a fountain pen, something inexpensive in case it's not for me.

I have no experience with fountain pens; I normally use a gel pen.

I mean, NO experience with them. I don't know how to fill it, I know nothing about nibs, I don't know if it will leak, I don't know how costly it will be to have a supply of ink, and I'm a little worried I'll damage it because I'm heavy-handed.

I prefer a metal barrel to resin or plastic, but that may be out of my reach for a beginner. My budget is around $50 for the pen and an amount of ink.

Am I out of my element? Should I stick to a Pilot G2?

If you just want to try something out, there are plenty of options to get a metal bodied pen and a box of ink cartridges for under $50. You just insert the cartridge and off you go.

Modern steel nibs are pretty robust - as long as you don't try and engrave the paper you should be ok. Some companies sell replacement nibs and their pens are designed for them to be swapped. I recommended Lamy in another thread recently, and I would do again, but I don't want to be accused of being a shill for them.

I'm sure a lot of folk will also recommend the Lamy Safari. Loads of colours and either plastic / metal. Cheap as chips, cartridge or converter, and with easy to change nibs plus loads of variety with the nib sizes too. Can be licked up at any stationers too.

There are also pens made in China available on eBay or Etsy in the $20-$40 range that you might want to consider that are made by Kaco, Wing Sung, Pen BBS and Moonman - some metal, others acrylic or other materials. I have many and most are really good. Also the metal Hong Dian Forest can be had in about half a dozen colors from eBay for around $15. When it comes to inks, even a small bottle will last a long time. I suggest considering Diamine, which has a great selection of colors and a 30mm bottle will only set you back around $7.50.

Lefonque

Even more clueless than you