What's new

New Vikings nrush

I'm completely new to straight razor shaving but I've been a wet shaver for awhile. I recently bought a Vikings shave brush and have only used it once so far. But so far so good. I like the feel of it and it has a good knot that picks up soap well and it didn't lose one hair the first time using it. Any thoughts on this brand? I also had a question. I haven't had a chance to handle various brushes but it seems they are pretty straight forward. What is the difference between a $39 brush such as my Viking and a $200 USD brush? I mean in terms of performance and not aesthetics.

It appears the one badger brush in the Vikings selection is just a Pure Badger, the lowest grade of badger knot. When you get into the higher end you're generally talking a higher grade of badger. I personally prefer higher grade badgers, but to each his own on that.

That was going to be my second question, what is the difference between a $30 brush and a $250 brush. I would probably like the higher grade badger as well however I've never felt one to know. But that's how I got into cigars, I once smoked a very nice one and then I threw down the grocery store cigars and now I have several humidor and coolidors of the best that can be had. Perhaps it's best if I don't look into the premium badger at least for now haha.

I think a main factor into a higher priced brush is artistic appeal as well. Higher grade, often more attractive materials are used for the handles. Depending on whom you are buying your brush from, the knots offered with those handles can be quite luxurious. Prime examples of this are Paladin Shaving and Brad Sears Brushworks. They provide a full brush experience that is top notch in every sense.