What's new

my latest find in the wild with a few questions. im a nib noob

im excited to be posting in the nib for the very first time. this is the parker 51 (color is turquoise) pen/pencil set with the cool box i picked up this weekend for $5 bucks. the bladder seems to be fine. the only prob with the pen is the... idk what u call it....the part on the cap that latches onto ur pocket so it doesnt fall out. that thing spins freely because the piece that holds it down doesnt stay tight. sorry for the pics, i took them real quick before i left for work with my phone. i recently found out that my mother in law also has a parker 51 with the gold fil that belonged to her mother and she would like to start using it.
here are my questions:
1. on my pen u can see what looks like ink build up around the nib, what would be a good way to clean that?
2. does all that ink build up mean that something is wrong?
3. for my mother in law and i, what would be a good ink to buy? i dont really want to buy anything too expensive but i also dont want anything real cheap and crappy

when i get home in a few days i will take some better pictures and ask my mother in law if i can also take some of hers.

Attachments

• $IMAG0092.jpg
    $IMAG0092.jpg
    24.8 KB · Views: 139
  • $IMAG0093.jpg
    $IMAG0093.jpg
    40.3 KB · Views: 142
  • $IMAG0095.jpg
    $IMAG0095.jpg
    32 KB · Views: 143
  • $IMAG0098.jpg
    $IMAG0098.jpg
    33 KB · Views: 145
Last edited:
Some pics please of the jewel, and the barrel off.

The build up... a long soak in water with just a touch of ammonia. a toothbrush after the soak and repeated flushing of the pen should loosen all that up.

As for the spinning clip. The jewel will have to be removed and there is a screw under the jewel that will need to be tightened. Be careful removing the jewel as you can snap off the peg.

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member