What's new

Menthol burn

I shaved a couple of days ago and left my proraso menthol pre shave on for longer than usual. Probs about 5 minutes. My skin then went red and swollen where I had applied it for a few hours after and I had a below par shave with weepers which I haven’t had for ages.

I don’t normally react to menthol like this but figured the prolonged contact caused the issue. I’ve been using it for a few months but normally apply then within a minute or so apply my soap or cream.

Anyone else experience anything like this?

Menthol can cause irritation is left on sensitive skin too long. Kinda like Vic’s vapor rub on some people. The Rave crowds love and tolerate menthol smeared inside their face 😷 masks for hours at a time; so to each their own.

you can develop sensitivities due to prolonged exposure as well. Could just be your face letting you know it needs a bit of time to heal. Menthol in general is a big reason for irritation etc. for a lot of people.

Star_Wahl_Clipper_Treker

Likes a fat handle in his hand
So far, the only pre-shave I have, is the Proraso Pre-shave Eucalyptus in the GREEN top jar. Generally, what I do, is I apply it, rub it into the face pretty good, then I bring the soap lather to my face, then it all comes off with the razor in the first WTG passes. I don't think that I have had a reaction from the pre-shave by doing this.

Now, I will get quite the burning feeling from the alcohol in a Captains Choice aftershave, but that goes away after several seconds, and then I am left with a pleasant scent, and smooth skin. If you are super sensitive to menthol, then I suggest you stop using it, and use a pre-shave that doesn't have menthol in it.

Strange thing is I love menthol in my shave products and have always used it just fine until this occasion where I left it on for longer than usual. I’ve even added crystals to my shave creams without issue.