What's new

Max # Shaves w/Bic Chrome Platinum?

I'm new to BIC Chrome Platinum blades. Background: I have a moderate in the middle as far as wisker toughness and density. Ideally, I would shave every day and a half, but two days would be too long, So I'm a daily two pass shaver. I'm using a Muhle R89 and today I had my 8th excellent shave with a BIC Chrome Platinum (I haven't used many different blades but this may become my main squeeze) How many gents have gotten many shaves with the blade, and if so, how many?

Hmm, if they are like Personna Blues something on the order of 120. If they are like Israeli Personnas, more like 150.

I will eventually try them as I liked their multi-blade razors, but it will be a while before I have a razor free -- at the current rate, sometime in late November.....

I'm a daily two-pass shaver and use the Bic Chrome Platinum for over half of my shaves. I find they take about five shaves to settle in but then shave like a dream for about four weeks. I change mine out every four weeks/28 shaves.
While I had seven great shaves.. No 8 was Rocky. So I ditched it today

@T.Orso and @King-Joe have gotten their money’s worth with those blades
For me this is quite an understatement. Eight shaves on a Bic blade is just getting started. Perhaps it takes that many to rub off the coatings and get down to the bare blade, which then goes on forever, smooth and sharp.

I haven’t been counting shaves lately, but my current setup is a Bic blade in a Canadian old type. I think I loaded it in April. I missed a few days of shaving, and dabbled a bit with other razors. But it’s been well over 90% with this setup because it is delivering consistently close and enjoyable shaves even now, months on.

I do seem to use blades longer than most people. But Bic is in a class by itself.