What's new

how to get rid of white flakes/dry skin after shaving

Hi,

I'm a noob, and been DE shaving for 1-2 weeks.
The problem I have with DE shaving is that, I get this dry skin/white flakes on same spots all the time.

I use Proraso Pre-Shave cream with green tea extract and aloe, then Nivea shaving cream for Sensitive skin, then Nivea after shaving lotion for sensitive skin. Before I go to work, I put on some facial lotion too...

What can I use to avoid having dry spots or am I shaving wrong?

thanks

I suffered from this for years before I started wetshaving, and then it cleared up, to my delight.

Everyone is different, but I have a hunch that once you get your technique down it will clear up for you. Keep using that aftershave balm after every shave... and I would drop that shaving cream you are using for some Mitchell's Wool Fat.

Nothing that won't go away once you get better at finetuning pressure and angle.

+1

This "dry skin" is actually a skin "shaving" or "tag" primarily created by too aggressive an angle. I used to get this all the time in the beginning, then as my technique improved it went away only to return on days where I wasn't paying enough attention to angle (usually on the ATG pass).

Watch your angle and this should go away.

Avoid AS with alcohol and go for Thayers alcohol free products, followed by a balm and a light moisturizer.

That's my routine in the winter. In the sumer I tend to replace the AS splash with something with some alcohol.

Keep us posted.

I thought it had something to do with my a/s that's why i posted this here..
Nivea a/s is alcohol free, so I guess that can't be it..

I guess I will try to correct the way/angle I shave..
Youtube, here I come..

thanks guys..

I thought it had something to do with my a/s that's why i posted this here..
Nivea a/s is alcohol free, so I guess that can't be it..

I guess I will try to correct the way/angle I shave..
Youtube, here I come..

thanks guys..