What's new

Help Me Teach A Class On Shaving!

Gents-- I've offered to teach a class in traditional shaving for the local Adult Education department of the city I live in. Its tentatively going to be three classes of 60-90 minutes, each a week apart. I've put together an outline of what I plan to go over, and I'd like input from the folks here. All comments welcome. Sorry about the formatting, I'm no expert on HTML, multiple indents, etc.

1. Class #1: The Basic Shaving Experience: Using Locally-Available Products
1.1 Introduction
1.1.1 Who Am I, Why Am I Here?
1.1.2 Who Are You, Why Are You Here?
1.1.3 The Challenge: Finding the set of products that work for you
1.2 Razor
1.2.1 Review Mass Market (Sensor/Mach3/Quattro/Fusion/Disposables)
1.2.2 Fewer Blades = Generally Better Experience
1.3 Brush
1.3.1 Hair types (boar, badger, synthetic)
1.3.2 Importance
1.3.3 Local Availability
1.3.4 Brush Care
1.4 Cream/Soap Available Locally: Proraso, Kiss My Face, Surrey, Williams
1.5 Generating Lather
1.5.1 Soap vs. Cream
1.5.2 Water Ratio
1.5.3 Lathering in mug/in hand/on face
1.6 Brushless Options
1.7 Essential Concepts
1.7.1 It Ain't Called “Wetshaving” for Nothin'
1.7.1.1 Hydrating the face
1.7.1.2 Water Temperature vs. Age of Shaver (hotter water for younger people)
1.7.1.3 Water “Hardness” vs. Lather
1.7.2 “When to Shave” Options
1.7.2.1 After a Shower
1.7.2.2 Morning: More than 20 minutes after rising from bed but before eating
1.7.2.3 Evening: Just before bedtime
1.7.3 Beard Reduction vs. Beard Elimination
1.7.4 The Face As Golf Course
1.7.4.1 Playing For Par (i.e. Don't repeat strokes)
1.7.4.2 The Shaving Stroke: The “Lie” of the Grain, The Follow-Through
1.7.4.3 Flatten, Don't Stretch Skin (& only if necessary)
1.7.5 Shave in phases/passes
1.7.5.1 First pass: with the grain
1.7.5.2 Second Pass: Across the Grain
1.7.5.3 Third/T&C Pass: Against the Grain (If Possible!)
1.8 DEMO SHAVE (Using Proraso or KMF, Boar Brush, Mach3)
1.9 Dealing With Problems