What's new

Grey Green Coticule

I just ordered a grey green coticule from Jarrod at The Superior Shave. Does anybody know which layer these typically come from? I am new to coti's and see so much discussion about the layers I am curious. Also Jarrod says these are extremely fast so I was wondering if any of you has any tips for me.

I just ordered a grey green coticule from Jarrod at The Superior Shave. Does anybody know which layer these typically come from? I am new to coti's and see so much discussion about the layers I am curious. Also Jarrod says these are extremely fast so I was wondering if any of you has any tips for me.

The ones close to the top of which he had six? Those are La Verte. I don't know how fast they are, but I believe there are two varieties of that vein: faster on slurry and slower on slurry. Do a search for "La Verte" on coticule.be.

I actually think it's strange that he calls these fast and that he prefers "slower" hones (reddish La Dressantes and LPB), considering that this classification is a bit of the opposite of what I've heard from others (particularly, that LPB, La Veinette and Les Latneuses are the fastest currently exploited veins and La Verte and La Grise are slower although still plenty fast, with La Dressante varying). I certainly find the two La Grises that I've had to be slower than my Les Latneuses and La Petite Blanche.

Remember that coticules cut both like waterstones and like oil stones (though much more like waterstones, of course)...these 'verte' stones have, in my experience of ~3 dozen or so now, a greatly enhanced oilstone-based speed capacity. Off the charts for the coticules. Their normal stuff-above-the-plane cutting can be either fast or slow from what I've flattened and played with...

But when submitting an ebay razor to one's will I find nothing wrong with some good old fashioned pressure, and those stones love it and beneft from it. Grise might chip, and wouldn't speed up much anyway were you to do it.