What's new

Gem Jewel + Stropping Set - Advice Sought

I posted this thread: http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php/240350-What-s-in-the-box the night I won the auction, now the wee beastie has arrived and following commenters advice have reposted to hopefully catch the eye of SE aficionados in the use and maintenance of this set.

I have NO experience with SE, and all I know of this set is that it is the "Gem" version of the Ever Ready Streamline strop set.

My first averted disaster was noticing the 5 pack of Gem single edge blades, that in my defense were in the shaving section of the pharmacy next to the Gillette fusions etc, have the word "scrapers" on them and do NOT appear to be intended for facial use!

Attachments

• $100_1026.jpg
    $100_1026.jpg
    28 KB · Views: 99
  • $100_1027.jpg
    $100_1027.jpg
    42.4 KB · Views: 98
  • $100_1029.jpg
    $100_1029.jpg
    26.2 KB · Views: 99
  • $100_1028.jpg
    $100_1028.jpg
    36.6 KB · Views: 100
  • $100_1031.jpg
    $100_1031.jpg
    42.5 KB · Views: 855
P

Pjotr

.............My first averted disaster was noticing the 5 pack of Gem single edge blades, that in my defense were in the shaving section of the pharmacy next to the Gillette fusions etc, have the word "scrapers" on them and do NOT appear to be intended for facial use!

You did well. I actually used one of those and couldn't shave for three days after. Were they in a red pack? It shouldn't be allowed to actually stock them in the pharmacy section.

Nice set.:drool: Get yourself some Gem Stainless,Ted Pella PTFE coated,Treet carbon or Blue Star carbon blades and enjoy your shaves.:001_smile Oh and don't use the Double Life blades in the case,they will have suffered considerable oxidation by now.

Last edited:
Oh, any trivia about the set it welcome too! I'm curious as to why they are comparatively rare. Every reference I can find to this set is usually first discussing the Ever Ready Streamline set.