What's new

First time honing

Need some help setting the bevel. Bought a gold dollar and some shapton pro stones 1k 5k 8k and 12k. I cannot seem to get the edge to pass pop or even slice hairs half way up before move on from 1k to 5k. Any ideas on why?

I haven’t used those stones so not sure if you’re supposed to soak them first or can splash water and go. But I’d first have to ask are they lapped flat?

I haven’t used those stones so not sure if you’re supposed to soak them first or can splash water and go. But I’d first have to ask are they lapped flat?
Yes I have lapped them with a 400 atoma diamond stone. They are splash and go and far as I know.

I have been honing my own razors for around four years now. It was frustrating at first. I watched a lot of video's on Youtube, I really mean a LOT. Have probably bought a good deal more stones than I need and certainly more than I thought I would. It is a very satisfying feeling to shave with a razor that you have honed yourself, especially when it was a little more tricky to get right than at first thought. It is a skill that comes with practice and hopefully, I will always find ways of improving my edges.
Good luck and keep practicing.

Focus solely on the 1K stone right now. If you have a good bevel set on the 1k, you will be able to easily shave your arm with any part of blade (not just the center or toe). You may be able to get it sharper by moving onto higher grits, but if the bevel isn't set along the length of the blade you aren't getting the best results.

Use each stone like a finisher before moving onto the next stone. It helps as you go through your progression.
Are you using a rolling X stroke or just honing with straight back and forth strokes?

Thank you! Any ideas on why the edge of a stone, even after being lapped sever times, is only cutting on the edges despite hold it flat on the stone? Could the handle weight b enough to make cutting on the edge of a stone make more contact than near the toe