What's new

Feather Artist Club razor?

I have ZERO experience with a straight razor and don't know anyone who does so, I probably need one with "training wheels"!
:straight:

I normally use a Schick Injector or Yaqi Excalibur AC. I'm thinking a Feather Artist Club model might be a good option. I'm not sure if this is what is referred to as a "Shavette" but, random references suggest that is a different blade style.

I am pretty sure I don't want to manually strop a traditional straight being a knife knutt with lots of experience with water stones and similar stuff. This has me thinking an AC 'straight' that uses a blade in common with my daily single edge is a reasonable move.

Unfortunately, what I have found online isn't very detailed and is mostly a general "works great" and similar thoughts. So, .....

Apparently, there are three basic model variations which seem to be sort of like choosing a DE blade gap and exposure option. Handle materials are easy to choose but, what about the differences in the razors themselves and what may be better for a straight razor novice?

TIA,
Sid

Last edited:
The Feather website had drawings of the head-on profiles that demonstrate the differences. The DX is probably closer to a traditional straight. The SS has a notable "bump" or lip near the edge that serves to stretch the skin a little, kind of like a safety bar on a DE but in reverse. It also forces you to use a slightly higher shave angle. The SR is somewhere in the middle. As far as blade choices there aren't that many. Pro Supers will have a bit more exposure, Lights will have less, and the Pro and Proguards are in the middle. Kai and Schick also make AC blades which I believe are the same width as the Pro.

I've only used Feather Pros and Kai Milds in a DX clone. The Feathers are sharper but a little harsher, the Kais are very smooth but not as sharp. I've heard that Proguards provide a good balance of sharp and smooth.