What's new

Corn Cob Pipe Questions.

Hello All
I am thinking of purchasing a Corn Cob Pipe, been looking on ebay. I am new to pipe smoking.
Have a few questions:
1. Are Corn Cob Pipes all the same quality?
2. Some mention that they have filters, and some don't mention filters at all, if they don't mention filters, does that mean that they don't have one?
3. I guess that one would want a filter, but would like some feedback some from some experienced corncob smokers.
4. How long would the filters last, like in how many pipe full of tobacco.
5. Is there any advantage to getting a curved stem over a straight stem.
6. As they are quite inexpensive, I am wondering how long they will last, do you just throw them away after a while and get a new one?
Any suggestions or comments are highly appreciated.
Thanks

I've no experience with anything other than Missouri Meerchaum, so I can't speak to #1, but MM are so inexpensive, I can't imagine any reason to buy anything else from eBay and take a chance on getting something that may be contaminated.

Filters, just because it is not mentioned does not mean it does not have one. Virtually all of the <$50 pipes you see in smoke shops have either a filter or a steel stinger. The intent is to keep the dottle from being inhaled.
Personally, I prefer no filter. They are a hassle and dirty to change, they act as a condensation point for moisture and make the pipe smoke wet, and they are an ongoing expense.
I've replaced the stems on my MM's with "Forever Stems" that are unfiltered.