What's new

Cigar to go with a nice Scotch?

I'm looking for some really smooth cigars to pair with Johnny Walker Gold Label Reserve. The Scotch is sweet, fresh, and not too smoky for a JW product and would like to find a nice easygoing cigar with which to pair it. I am a complete cigar novice, yet want something super smooth that I can smoke with a friend, who is also a cigar novice. We're lightweights, so I'm guessing we won't be able to smoke for more than 10 minutes or so before it's too much. Any sized cigar is fine, we're not set on a ring size or length or anything. Any suggestions are appreciated!

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member
10 minutes? Cigarillos might be more up your alley. A cigar is gonna last about 45 - 1.5 hours. Of course you can let it go out and light it up again later on. But I’ve never had good luck with that, in my experience they always tasted differently. Plus you really shouldn’t put them back in the humidor to save for later.

I don’t know anything that would pair well with the Scotch since I’ve never had it. If you think you will only last 10 minutes visit your local shop, tell the employee you are looking for a good inexpensive mild cigar for a novice. They will set you in the right direction. This way you get the affect and taste of a real cigar without the wallet crying if you toss it after 10 minutes.

I’m sure some folks will come along here with a good Johnny Walker / Cigar paring too.

Hirsute

Used to have fun with Commander Yellow Pantyhose