What's new

Breaking in boar

I am new to shaving (just got my first shave: http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php/291600-First-(non-cartridge)-shave!) and my dad gave me one of the boar brushes hes had around but not really used. I read the section in the wiki on breaking in brushes here: http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/How_to_Break_in_a_Shaving_Brush and I just wondered if there were any additional steps I should take, and things I should avoid doing, and if there were some soaps that were better than others. I planned on just making a lather with Cella soap and letting it sit over night.

I read around here and read around here that breaking in a brush is important for boar. I did shave with it, but I am a newb so I really have nothing to compare it with. Thanks for the advice!

-The Nuclear Shaver

just use it - if it has a funk do a couple pratice lathers but you don't need to let lather sit over night on it.

Do NOT make a lather and let it sit in the brush... that is a sure fire way to totally ruin the bristle. The acidic nature will kill the bristles if left for a long time.

It's simple... just use the brush! Some people will do 6-10 test lathers (lather, rinse, let dry, repeat) before they use the brush for the first time.

Glad I asked! Is that type of break in good for other types of brushes or just skip it all together? Is it okay to clean the brush with vinegar for short periods of time?

Do NOT make a lather and let it sit in the brush... that is a sure fire way to totally ruin the bristle. The acidic nature will kill the bristles if left for a long time.

It's simple... just use the brush! Some people will do 6-10 test lathers (lather, rinse, let dry, repeat) before they use the brush for the first time.