What's new

Bowl Lathering Italian Soft Soaps?

Bowl Lathering Italian Soft Soaps:
Can It Be Done?

I read Marco's tutorial on lathering soft Italian soaps.
No doubt that works great.
However, as a beginner, I feel I don't have enough control over face lathering. Furthermore, even if I would be great at it, I prefer bowl lathering.
Plus I want to get a scuttle in the future.
Is it possible to bowl lather soft soaps?
I have this really good Susan Darnell Vitos Sapone Extra Super and would like to get the maximum performance out of it. Plus I think I will mostly use soft soaps in the future.
Any tips, help would be appreciated!

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
Yes, you can bowl lather any shave soap or shave cream. That's up to you. You would probably need to find a container where your soap can be stored. Then, it's a matter of finding the right bowl to lather.

Here are some images I just made while bowl lathering Vitos Red with coconut oil using Marco's tip.

proxy.php

I used my BB09 which I soaked for two minutes in my DB. I dumped the water from the inner bowl but I did not shake out
the brush. I loaded the brush from the tin for about 35-45 seconds while holding it over the scuttle so that the soapy water
in the brush would fall back into the bowl. I mixed the soap and water for about a minute and it looked like an unusable
soupy mess. I kept at it for another two minutes and was rewarded with billowy slick lather. I feel it speaks for itself.

My 2 cents,

Currently away on biz and SOP for me is use the coffee mug in the hotel room to lather up (dopp kit for travel has a cheaper boar brush, proraso green tube, pre and AS and if it's going to be checked luggage I carry an EJ handle that fits a Mach 3 because ove the obvious blade on a plane issue.